YARWA is proud to announce the winners for both the Rosemary contest and the Athena contest for Excellence in Young Adult & New Adult Fiction.


Young Adult Contemporary

  • First Place – The Truth Between Death and Daffodils (orig. Dead Parents Camp) by Joan F. Smith
  • Second Place – A Van, A Plan, An Aerosol Can by Caroline Noonan
  • Third Place – Covenant Park by Christine Gunderson
  • Honorable Mention – All the Stars in the Ocean by Jennifer Camiccia
  • Honorable Mention – Half of Something Else by Sarah Emery
  • Honorable Mention – Loving Outside the Lines by Kimberly MacCarron


  • First Place – The Pinkerton Sisters by Susan Azimzadeh Boyer
  • Second Place – Beyond These Villa Walls by Leanne Farella
  • Third Place – My Hands Hold My Story by Bethany Swaffford

New Adult Contemporary

  • First Place – The Ravine by Michelle Joyce Bond
  • Second Place – Viral by Stacy Hoff
  • Third Place – Finding Greta by Tara Harlow

YA/NA Paranormal

  • First Place – Prom Fright by S. E. Babin
  • Second Place – Heaven on Hold by Dax Varley
  • Third Place – Two Wishes by Jennifer Dyer
  • Honorable Mention – Losing My Religion by Kristen Joy Wilks

YA/NA Speculative

  • First Place – Flint Flare Flame by Sam Taylor
  • Second Place – Wild Thing by Marsha Longshore
  • Third Place – Mercy Killers by Jessica Grace Kelley


Young Adult Contemporary

  • First Place – Tanabata Wish by Sara Fujimura
  • Second Place – Just One of the Boys by Leah Rooper & Kate Rooper
  • Third Place – The Way It Hurts by Patty Blount
  • Third Place – Worthy by Donna Cooner
  • Third Place – Livin’ La Vida Bennet by Mary Strand

New Adult Contemporary

  • First Place – A Star to Steer Her By by Beth Anne Miller
  • Second Place – Delayed Departure by Abigail Drake
  • Third Place – Not My Idea by Bethany Swafford

YA/NA Paranormal

  • First Place – Birthright by Jessica Ruddick
  • Second Place – Deep Dark Secrets by Sarra Cannon
  • Second Place – Soulmated by Shaila Patel
  • Third Place – Glimpses of Wilderness by Lee Ann Ward

YA/NA Speculative

  • First Place – Life After Chocolate by H.O. Knight
  • Second Place – Starswept by Mary Fan
  • Third Place – The Wishing Heart by J.C. Welker

Best First Book

  • Tanabata Wish by Sara Fujimura

Best Of The Best

  • Birthright by Jessica Ruddick


Winners were announced at the Day of YA event in Denver in July. Thank you again to everyone who entered, who volunteered to judge, or who helped coordinate. Several entries received requests so we wish everyone the best of luck as they move forward in their writing journey.

Monica Jones
Athena Contest Coordinator

Tara Kennedy
Rosemary Contest Coordinator