2016 Rosemary Contest

Want to enter next year’s Rosemary Contest? Click here to learn how.


YARWA is proud to announce the winners of the 3rd annual Rosemary Contest for Excellence in Young Adult and New Adult Fiction.

Contemporary Young Adult

  • Jennifer Dyer, THE DONOR
  • K.D. Van Brunt, I FOLLOW THE SUN
  • Sara Fujimura, PHOENIX ON ICE


Historical Young Adult

  • Lana Pattinson, ISLE OF MY HEART
  • McCall Hoyle, SOUL TO TAKE
  • Wendy Godding, HARRIS HOUSE


New Adult

  • Amy Lamont, ALMOST NEVER
  • K.D. Proctor, IF YOU’RE EVER IN TOWN
  • Laura Elizabeth, BETRAYED


Paranormal Young Adult

  • Ashley Hearn, THE SUMERLIN CURSE
  • Jennifer Hawkins, FALSE START


Speculative Young Adult (Tie for 3rd place)

  • Christine Gunderson, SOREN’S RESISTANCE
  • Jennifer Hawkins, THE LANGUAGE OF CHERRIES
  • Loretta Torossian, SEABREATHER
  • Sharon Wray, WICKER HOLLOWS

We want to thank all of our first-round judges for their sacrificial work on behalf of the chapter. The final judges are looking forward to receiving the entries. We look forward to announcing the final placements at the Day of YA, on July 13th, 2016 in San Diego, California, at the RWA National Conference. All finalists are invited to be present to receive the news in person!

The entries this year were extremely strong, and many of the categories were decided by one point only. All entrants should be proud of their work, as we are of supporting this fine contest.

Best of luck to all the finalists, and may this lead to many contracts.

Rosemary Contest Coordinators and Category Coordinators

  • R.L. Syme & Robin Hammer
  • Julie Shepard
  • Ally Broadfield
  • Tara Kennedy
  • Greta Gunselman
  • Monica Jones