2015 Rosemary Contest

Want to enter next year’s Rosemary Contest? Click here to learn how.


YARWA is proud to announce the winners of the 2nd annual Rosemary Contest for Excellence in Young Adult and New Adult Fiction.

Contemporary Young Adult
1.Linda Budzinski’s The Boyfriend Whisperer (YARWA Member)
2.Grace Robinson’s Say Goodbye
3.Dylan Newton’s Delinquent


Historical Young Adult (Tie for 2nd place)
1.Donna Maloy’s Counterfeit Lady
2.Katherine Fleet’s Scarlett Summer
2.Kip Wilson’s The Most Dazzling Girl in Berlin


New Adult
1.Regan Loyd’s Becoming Prey
2.Sandra Havriluk’s Hide the False Heart (YARWA Member)
3.Elizabeth Langston’s Cluster (YARWA Member)


Paranormal Young Adult
1.Marisa Hopkins’ Charming the Dead
2.Kelley J.P. Lindberg’s True Love Never
3.Catherine Chant’s Hush: The Dead Don’t Tell


Speculative Young Adult (Tie for 2nd place)
1.Janet Halpin’s The Nascent Bloom
1.Connie MacElroy’s Dream Crafters
1.Marty Mayberry’s Phoenix Rising

We want to thank all of our first-round judges for their sacrificial work on behalf of the chapter. The final judges are looking forward to receiving the entries, and we look forward to announcing the final placements at the Evening of YA, on July 24th, 2015 in New York City, at RWA National Conference. All finalists are invited to be present to receive the news in person!

The entries this year were extremely strong, and many of the categories were decided by one point only. All entrants should be proud of their work, as we are of supporting this fine contest.

Best of luck to all the finalists, and may this lead to many contracts.

Rosemary Contest Coordinators and Category Coordinators

  • R.L. Syme & Robin Hammer
  • Julie Shepard
  • Ally Broadfield
  • Tara Kennedy
  • Greta Gunselman
  • Monica Jones